26/03/19 – Weary – 1 year 9 months

NHS staff –  56 (again, sorry, NHS), cumulative 557.  New stat. – Private – 46

New stat. Medical appointments to date since July 2017 – 167

I know its been 3 months since my last update and you would think no news is good news, right? Wrong, I’m afraid.

I’ll start with the bad news.

If you remember I broke my ankle (fibula, so technically leg) at the beginning of last August.  I have been in constant pain since and have not really been able to do much more than go for a walk.  The NHS in their wisdom declared it clinically healed in December, but I was still not discharged from fracture clinic and was very unhappy with the results, I knew something was still not right.  I mentioned this to Phil and Lizzie and they checked out the x-rays for me and strongly suggested I ask for a 2nd opinion. My GP was on the case and I eventually got an appointment with Mr Limaye at North Tees on this coming 2 April.  You can see for yourself – it’s not rocket science, and it turns out walking around on a broken leg for 7 months is not good for you.

7th August 2018              20th December 2018

Christina Murray 7 Aug 2018Christina Murray 20 Dec 2018

Far from being healed, it’s now worse.  My private physio refused to treat me further on seeing the x-rays and suggested I get a second opinion privately immediately and recommended, you got it Mr Limaye.  Rather than wait for the April appointment, having lost 7 months of my life to my ankle, I took this option.  It was x-rayed again at the private Woodlands hospital and Mr Limaye confirmed what I thought.  It was far from healed and if nothing was done, I would be in pain for the rest of my life.  Now, I could wait and get on an NHS waiting list which could take many months more, or I could pay for private surgery (ouch, ouch, ouch) and get my life back.  On 13 March I underwent the surgery, so here’s the obligatory hospital shot a couple of hours after the op.

DSC_0042

Mr Limaye lopped off the tip of my fibula, implanted an internal brace and reconstructed the lateral collateral ligament complex.  I am not weight bearing for about 3 weeks, and because my newly plated wrist cannot handle going far on crutches yet, I am housebound and confined to a wheelchair.  Thanks for the loan Vince and Marian, its been a godsend.

I stayed overnight at the hospital and the day after discharge, I think I was still a little woosie getting out of bed up onto crutches.  I lost my balance and fell sideways – think Del Boy in Only Fools and Horses falling through the bar hatch – my fall broken by the corner of a wooden laundry box – nasty bruise on my side – then further broken by my poorly wrist then finished off by landing directly on the surgery site of my ankle, squashing a crutch between me and my arm for good measure – another spectacular bicep bruise.  Luckily this catastrophe happened just before Pat set off to work.  We were very concerned this might have compromised the surgery so phoned the woodlands for advice, come in to be checked over they said, so we did.  We waited 10 minutes in the ward reception and just as the doctor was approaching me, I decided to pass out cold. Apparently the doc was very alarmed and it was like a scene out of ER, doc calling for nurses and oxygen.  I came to about 5 minutes later, no harm done.  They took another x-ray of my ankle and confirmed no harm done to that either, so home and recovery.

Of course, we were meant to go skiing 10 days after the surgery with a bunch of friends , so I have had to cancel my now 4th holiday.  Pat has gone as there is no point us both missing out, so here is me home alone.

DSC_0032

Thanks also to Clare J for the loan of an amazing bathlift which has meant all through my 2 lots of surgery I have been able to keep clean with the help of limbo limb covers.

I will of course be corresponding with the NHS about the less than sterling treatment of my ankle break.  Its tricky because they also saved my life.

On the plus side my wrist is healing nicely I think, see below.

1020889 1 DSC_0048

I had to have a dexa bone density scan in January because I’d had 2 low trauma broken bones in 5 months and the fear was I had developed Osteoporosis either as a result of chemo or the fact that I’m a fifty something female.   Results showed that I was on the cusp of Ostopenic which is not as bad as Ostoporosis.  I have to take Alendronic Acid for 5 years to build bone density and take vitamin D probably for the rest of my life. The cause is not known.

To add insult to injury, about a month ago, a non painful hard lump popped up on my thumb.  I was sent for an x-ray to see if it was cancer related, but I got a phone call about an hour after surgery to tell me its mild Osteoarthritis.  This may be a late side effect of chemo which I’ll need to discuss with the Haematology team at my next review.

So, on to the next thing.  Its really no surprise that having cancer, chemo and all its side effects, a pulmonary embolism, radiotherapy, multiple scans of every kind, various clinics, endless blood tests, breaking an ankle then a wrist, 2 surgeries and cancelling multiple holidays, being in permanent pain and losing nearly 2 years of my life is really not good for the soul and one person can only take so much.  I was referred by my GP and haematology team to a mental health team and have been diagnosed with moderate to severe depression and mild PTSD.  I am on a special cancer patient pathway and am receiving weekly one to one psych sessions at home, probably for the next 3 months.  Hopefully they will sort me out.

That’s all the not so good news and to lighten the mood, here is an art installation that I’ve entitled ‘ Contraption Art’ consisting of all the splints, braces etc and paraphnalia I’ve accumulated.  Inspired, yes?

contraption art - black and blue

Now for some more uplifting stuff.

I’ve had my 6th (of 12) Immunotherapy treatment – only another year to go.

Last summer, Macmillan sent a team up from London to do a day’s photoshoot with Pat and I to feature in a new booklet that’s just been published.  We had to pretend we were camping in the campervan on the village green (sorry councillors).  Anyway it was fun and here is the end result:  MAC17023_Will booklet_V4

Here is a little something that my running group published on their website: Sisters R Doing It 

Lastly, I with another volunteer was interviewed by BBC Tees radio for their breakfast show.  It was about the Support Group we set up for Lymphoma Action – now 2 meetings in. BBC Tees interview.

I want to thank again my family, friends and neighbours for taxi services, chores, visits and food parcels over the past 20 months, I really do appreciate it.  Hopefully that part of my life will be behind me in a couple of months.

Special thoughts go out to cousin-in-law (Is that a thing?) Susie in Oz undergoing chemo for breast cancer, Ken, about to undergo Radiotherapy and Mary just out of surgery. Positive vibes to you all.

Finally, thought of the day to leave you with by Henry David Thoreau, thanks Pat:

‘You must live in the present, launch yourself on every wave, find your eternity in each moment. Fools stand on their island of opportunities and look toward another land.  There is no other land, there is no life but this’.

Ciao til next time. xx

12 thoughts on “26/03/19 – Weary – 1 year 9 months

  1. Well Tina what can I say !!!!!!!!! You truly are amazing and an inspiration to others ; here’s me complaining about arthritic hands 😮 love to you both 🤗X. Hope I’ve done this right am rubbish with technology 😂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. HI Viv, Yes, you’ve done it right!! I live for the day I have nothing to tell people, hopefully sooner rather than later. Love to you all. xx

      Like

  2. Tina, Good God Girl you never do things by halves do you!! So sorry to hear that you have been carrying this injury – and a shame that it took so long to get to the bottom of. No ranting from me about the NHS – they have been there to support you and can only do what they can – but it’s so frustrating for it to have taken so long to pick this up. I am glad too that your mental health issues have been recognised and that they too can be addressed – it’s unbelievable what you have been through and hardly surprising that you have been so low!

    Loving the beautiful head of hair…….. loved the photo of you speed skiing in the wheelchair! I loved the “Give me a Break” art installation….. you’ve got to keep laughing no matter what.

    Sending massive hugs and positive vibes
    Sarah
    x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thx Sarah, I agree, as much as I would like to rant at the NHS, I will only politely point out where they fell short. Not too long now before this will all be over. xx

      Like

  3. So sorry to hear of your latest problems Tina, we will be thinking of you as always. What a pity you missed out the nail varnish on your bed shot!! Much love Martyn & family.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Crikey Tina that’s a lot going on! Firstly, look at all your lovely hair 😍 you look great in that hospital bed pic even if the situation is awful xx

    Crikey I’m so sorry to hear all your medical news and hope those bones all mend properly and quickly now xx Cancer is hard enough without the broken bones. Living with depression is so hard too but I hope with therapy the darkness clears and you are able to soon enjoy life again.

    Sending a huge hug and lots of love and again an open invitation to come to visit if you’re fed up with your own four walks xx love to Pat too x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Louise,yes, its all pants right now,but I’m sure it will all improve one the physical side movess on. Would be great to see you again, thanks for the invite. Hope you’re ok too. xx

      Like

  5. I’m sorry to here about the bad news.
    I’m happy to feel that there’s a light by the end of the tunnel.
    I wish I would be better to express myself in english to tell you how I feel about all this and what you have been going through for a long time now.
    At least I can tell that we are thinking of you.

    All the best to both of you from both of us.
    Tina & Per

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment